Oekaki Sketch Dump

I’ve built up a buffer of discarded images from my attempts at drawing something in Oekaki. Sometimes I get frustrated with a sketch and change it completely or latch onto a radically different idea instead. Either way, I think it’s kind of interesting to look at the framework and totally messy ideas. When I draw digitally I tend to make several layers of scratchy lineart in obnoxious colors; I’m not sure if its a novice technique or if it actually helps with anything, but I do it subconsciously.

This is pretty old; I’m not sure if I ever posted it or not. I like doodling my Zanik dragon character frequently, but I struggle with his face. I often make his face very wide and rudimentarily-shaped so it looks too cartoony for my tastes.

Oekaki Discard4

I tend to sketch out people very poorly and then give up once I reach the feet. This person below is a good example where I forget what to do with the leg parts (how do the feet things???):

Oekaki discard1Below isn’t really a true scrap piece, but I did run out of canvas (the Oekaki I used limits the canvas to a max of 600 x 600). Recently I actually moved the file to my Photoshop elements, where I might finish it later.

Discarded Oekaki2I still struggle with drawing figures. I should really sit down and practice drawing people and movement. I was going to draw some sort of oracle with a magic crystal or something, but I became discouraged:

Oekaki Discard3I was trying to draw an accompanying piece to Fire and Ash but I messed up the horn placement:

Oekaki Discard5

Rogue.

What's on your mind?

