Is it Just Me, Or Do I Hear the Sound of Sequels?

Maybe it’s just me. Maybe I shouldn’t have anything to worry about. Or maybe Hollywood is rolling out a lot of sequels this year.

After seening a few previews, hearing a few blurbs, I looked up upcoming movies in 2011. Here’s a list of titles that caught my attention:

I Am Number Four
Jane Eyre
Diaires of a Wimpy Kid: Rodrick Rules
Thor
Pirates of the Caribbean: On Stranger Tides
The Hangover 2
Cars 2
Kung Fu Panda 2
Spy Kids 4: All the Time in the World
The Smurfs
Final Destination 5
Paranormal Activity 3
Puss in Boots
The Twilight Saga: Breaking Dawn
Happy Feet 2 in 3D

I have to say I was a little surpized by the number of movies that were sequels or ‘the next part of the series’. I’m afraid that several of those movies are going to be terrible sequels -read:moviesmadetocollectthemonies-… I know I’m not going to see all of these movies, but the movies I have seen that are sequels/threequels/whatever can be awful. And a sometimes a waste of money. I’ll enjoy the first movie, watch it far to many times, and then see the sequel, and be unimpressed.

Cars 2? I’m not so sure on this one. What could they make a movie about? McQueen learned his lesson in the first movie, what other moral will we see? Puss in Boots from Shrek? In its own movie? HOW MANY SHREK MOVIES WILL THEY MAKE?
Sigh. I think I’ll wait for them to be rerunning on T.V.

Rogue Out.

What's on your mind?

