Every Toy has a story.

I saw Toy Story 3 in a drive-in last Saturday.

I love Pixar movies, (don’t judge me!) and anyway, I’m not dissapointed. I of course enjoyed it, and after seeing it, I wondered why a lot of critics where saying it was not the same as the other previous movies. This sparked a lot of talk in our house, and then I realized it was indeed different from Toy Stories 1 & 2.

Now thinking further about the movie, I still sorta question why the movie was still ‘G’ for general audiences. If I was seven, I would surely be scared of that monkey with cymbols. The whole film was sorta dark. Toy Story 1 & 2 had climaxes and plots that where dire for the toys themselves, but I don’t remember a time where I (seven-year-old-me) could be scared. A good portion of the movie happens at night, and some to the characters have creepy apperences, and the toys almost die…

The plot was a little complicated, and I felt like it was sorta pushed onto me too fast. It didn’t unfold as smoothly as the other movies. I’m not sure a young child would understand the purple bear’s deception and manipulation of all the toys, but then again, the whole trilogy has always had plots that reach a bit deeper.

I think in the end, this movie was for all the people who saw 1 & 2, and wanted to see the gang for one last time. This is the end for the toys, and maybe it had to go to dark places and end where it did because that’s like life. We don’t always get to the good ending first; there’s always something in the way, and we’ve got to get through it.

So I can say Toy Story 3 wasn’t like the other two movies, but I can’t say it’s not worth waiting and watching for if you haven’t already seen it. To put it all in persective, I had to sit through Cats & Dogs 2: The Revenge of Kitty Galore, and it was pure crap.

Rogue Out.

What's on your mind?

