My Favorite Quote(s) of All Time

I have several favorite quotes, like many people.The first one is the first stanza of William Blake’s poem the Auguries of Innocence:

"To see a world in a grain of sand,
And a heaven in a wild flower,
Hold infinity in the palm of your hand,
And eternity in an hour."

I just think it’s so beautiful and sorta conveys the idea of seeing things in a different light and also appreciating them. I first heard it in the first Tomb Raider movie with Angelina Jolie, but at that time I didn’t realize who wrote it. The rest of the poem goes on to a very depressing note…. *cough*

My second quote I found in the paper by Lord Macaulay:

"His imagination resembled the wings of an ostrich. It enabled him to run, though not soar."

Don’t have ostrich-winged imaginations. Just Fail.
Anyway, I thought it was both clever and inspiring.

Then the last one is by someone called Ho Chi Minh:

"When the prison doors are open, the real dragon will fly out."

I suppose you could say that it’s sorta a depressing quote, about when after oppression, the real trouble happens, but I like to think it’s about rising up from oppression and things that happen.

What's on your mind?

